Ginger Walnut Carrot Cake

I remember being an ardent admirer of Nigella Lawson as I was growing up. Ever since I was a teenager, I used to be glued to the couch whenever her show came up on the telly. My admiration for her only grew bigger as years passed by. She is someone who makes food sound like poetry. The passion with which she speaks about the food she cooks is palpable and well, a few years since then, here I am writing my own blog post inspired by her very own recipe of the Christmas Special-Ginger Walnut Carrot Cake.

Before I start with the recipe, I want to brag a little and say, when my husband tasted a slice of this cake, he said it was one of the best cakes I have ever baked for him. Now he may have said it out of love, but truly this version of carrot cake is so delish that I don’t think I’ll ever be going back to the regular carrot cake from now on. Also, it can be completely done by hand. No need of an electric beater or a mixer (except for the icing). Making this really is a piece of cake! Here’s a little peek into the gorgeousness that this cake is!

DSC_0745

Recipe inspired by: Nigella Lawson’s ‘At my Table’

(Serves- about 10) (Total time taken: 1 hour 15 minutes)

Ingredients:

For the cake

125g grated carrot

200g plain flour

175g soft brown sugar

200ml vegetable or any flavourless oil

2 whole eggs

2 tsp of ground ginger

1tsp of baking soda

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

chopped walnuts (as desired)

chopped crystalised ginger (as desired)

DSC_0723

For the frosting:

100g unsalted butter

100g icing sugar

100g cream cheese

2 tbsp ginger juice

Method:

  1. In a small bowl, add all the dry ingredients- flour, baking powder and soda, salt, ground ginger and gently mix with a fork.
  2. In a bigger mixing bowl, take the brown sugar, eggs and oil and whisk together until they’re all well combined.
  3. Now fold in the dry ingredients gradually. Into the batter, throw in grated carrot, chopped walnuts and crystalised ginger candies and give it a final, gentle mix.
  4. Pour the batter in an 8-inch lined spring-foam pan and bake at 170 degree C for about 45-50 minutes or until the skewer comes out clean.
  5. While the cake is cooling, prep the classic cream cheese frosting (with a spicy twist) to go on top of your cake.
  6. Take the soft unsalted butter and icing sugar and beat them until soft. To this, add in the cream cheese and some ginger extract and beat again until it’s smooth and creamy but still holds shape.
  7. Slather your cake generously with the prepared frosting and scatter over the leftover of the chopped walnuts and crystalised ginger.

Stop drooling and cut yourself a piece of that luscious and divine-tasting cake and revel in foodgasm!

DSC_0743DSC_0750

Leave a comment